h1

Psst…..Pass it on!

December 14, 2007

Claudia tagged me for a little meme, and while I don’t normally join in on this type of thing, this one is so small and simple I really can’t refuse. While you’re at it, be sure to check Claudia out! She is in Germany and is practicing both her english and spanish by writing her posts in these foreign languages. I know nothing of spanish, but her english has improved dramatically and I would imagine that her spanish has as well. It really can’t be very easy to write in a language other than your own, and I think she is wonderfully smart and brave!

Allright, seven things about me…

1) I am Ukrainian. Unfortunately I was raised purely Canadian and know very little about my anscestry. Not a big deal, but I have found over the past few years that I want to get more in touch with my heritage and culture. I’ve started making the tradition Easter eggs with my kids at Easter and trying to make and serve some of the more traditional foods. I had no idea that it would also mean that I would take on the traditional body image of the Ukrainian baba……..!

2) I snore. And I don’t mean just a little bit. I saw logs, man! It is worse when I’m coming down with a cold, but this last pregnancy was terrible. I would wake myself up with the noise!

3) I enjoy cooking. There is nothing like a big meal with lots of delicious wholesome food. A good meal is the best way to treat people. As soon as I hear that we have company coming, I start planning my menus, but I always seem to forget about lunch time. Supper meals are my specialty.

4) I hate having my picture taken. I really dislike the way I look on film. Thank goodness I have so many cute kids and the family is now more interested in photographing them than me!

5) I have only one sister but always wished I was part of a large family. I married into one though. My husband has seven siblings. I think that is also the reason I have so many kids. I always wanted a large family, and when I was young and stupid, my Mr. Man and I planned to have six kids. I was mentally done at four though and now I have five. Which leads me to my next number.

6) As soon as Superbaby is old enough tolerate a bit of seperation from me and doesn’t require so much lifting and carrying, I’m going to have my tubes tied. Five is more than enough and I seem to get pregnant just by thinking about it. It is really quite unfair when there are so many women out there working so hard to get pregnant. I would gladly give them some of whatever it is that does it to me.

7) I love where I live. We are situated right on the banks of one of the largest rivers in Alberta, and the view of the valley is absolutely breathtaking, regardless of the season. When we built this house, we made sure that our living room window featured our view, and I try to drink it in as much as possible. I missed my valley, my view, and my house more than anything else when I was in the city with Superbabe.

All right, that’s seven random/weird facts about me. I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, but I do invite you to join in if you would like. Just be sure to give me a heads up because I want to make sure that I get to read yours as well!

One comment

  1. Oh, thanks a lot for your answers. So many personal facts about your busy family life. I have to translate the sentences
    I saw logs, man!
    and
    I’m going to have my tubes tied.
    And I ask myself about the siblings. I asume, they are brothers and sisters.

    Well, I can help you with the translations. “I saw logs” refers to my loud snoring. When someone snores very loudly we say that they sound like a chainsaw sawing through logs. “I’m going to have my tubes tied” : This is referring to a tubalectomy or tubal ligation, a form of permanent birth control for women. And yes, siblings are brothers and sisters. 🙂 Hope all that helps you.



Leave a comment